Winter Poetry Collection

Here is a collection of poetry written by students at the University of Exeter, all inspired by the theme of ‘winter’. Thank you to the Dead Poet’s Society for a lot of these contributions. This is in addition to the two poems selected in our print magazine which were Bebe Ashley’s “the water will take me” and “John” by Mohammed Patel. You can view them here:  https://issuu.com/razzmag/docs/razz_magazine_winter_2016 We’ve also featured some of our winter photography submissions alongside the poetry, these were submitted by Lea Esteban, Henry Davies, Douglas Fung and Zachery Xavier.

zachery-xavier
Zachery Xavier

Thermals

I walk the route of the paper round I had

when I was thirteen,

and 6:30AM was an undiscovered land.

Concrete, flat tires, closed

windows, condensation.

 

Curtains drawn, heavy sky,

silenced alarms, sleep, sleep,

my breath is the same cloud it was

eight years ago, trailing behind me

as I walk, heavy boots knocking through

the morning dark.

 

Sleep, sleep lingering in the corners

of my eyes.

I take holidays where I used to explore;

I visit these cold, dark mornings occasionally

so that my bed is

even warmer

when I slip back into it.

-Daisy Nikoloska

douglas-fung
Douglas Fung

 

Channel Blue

It was on a dead white winter’s day in the clinic when they told me

there was a malady with my neurotransmitter.

 

Many years ago they built a Television for my head.

Old footage of my life flashes on repeat as deathly silent

traces of memories collect together on the surface

of the screen. Little clouds of images drift up

and fade away again,

like the 20 second dreams of the Lumieres brothers,

foggy at the edges.

 

We are in an empty train carriage at night,

bruised in deep blue.

 

Now we are under the polluted glow of another memory, with

ruptured blue-black spots swirling around a school trip.

You have to be careful though; it is easy

to be led astray by the pulsating traffic of memory.

 

I find a job amusing small crowds by tuning myself to documentaries about ocean

wildlife. I can feel the waves of the Arctic Ocean rocking and crashing as

a distant sea

rages just behind my flickering face.

 

Even I, in my little boat, can’t escape time’s irresistible thaw.

-Jac Lewis

For Chloe’s Wintered Skin

For it has worn the scars of my lipstick

For it has been stained and smudged with black ink

For it is a chameleon, changing colour with the seasons

For it has touched me like she touches snow-sprinkled violas

For it has fingered the throat of a wine bottle again and again

And stood empties like soldiers on the window ledge

For it has faltered and painted the cream carpet red

For it has shuddered at the scream of tyres spinning on ice

And of china dispersing in fragments across the kitchen tiles

For it has hidden, this winter, beneath thick knit sweaters and mink fur

And it has been naked, unapologetically, beneath my heavy stares

For it has curled in on itself in the cold like a used toothpaste tube

For it has swollen, like bee stings, chiefly about the eyes

For it has worn rings of zucchini and aubergine on blueing fingers

For it has lain, a moment, as if we were woven

 

For it has been torn at her hand – but it has sewn itself together, again

It has wept – from wrists marked by labyrinthine seams

Stilled – by clinical glances in a tarnished bathtub

And it has let her stay

-Matilda Deterding

The Fall of Summer

It’s time to sweep away the softening sun.

Darkness has descended; feathered, falcon-like;

Feasting on day’s flesh now light is overrun.

But dawn died long before that fateful strike.

 

Glimmers of gold whispered through lush leaves,

Falling, upon soundless ears, cries unheard;

Herald soon what senseless sense antecedently grieves.

‘Twas these mellow days first her heart was stirred.

 

With cold caresses, rabbits fled foretold frost;

Those frigid kisses quelling tender Summer.

Children fear that ancient truth; love must cost;

Through sleeting, sleepless nights, she grew number.

 

Now Summer lies shrouded in silken snow.

Bloodless petals cleave to their decaying corpse;

While Winter watches through ice-bound-eyes,

In slow, soft, symphony, with the shifting skies.

-Lowri Wilkshire

henry-davies
Henry Davies

Leaves

You jump first into the pile of leaves.

I watch you, think of the slugs, the wet decay.

I cannot stop you as you

Take my hand and pull.

The leaves crunch under my weight.

I am cold and damp and the slick leaves

Stick to my hair and arms, but then I

 

Notice the way the leaves

Musk the air, the way the cold

Bites and crinkles in my nose,

How the light shifting in the trees

Is golden and alive, setting

Branches aflame.

 

To think that you and I are the same as a leaf,

Sinking and curling into ourselves with fire,

Until one day we lose control of the burn,

Complete the fall, join the dirt, and all

The small creatures will devour our flesh,

Until only our bones gleam white, waiting, our echo.

-Madison Grace

lea-esteban
Lea Esteban

November

The realisation that I am alone renews itself every November.

I rely on winter jumpers (there’s no summer love left) for warmth,

Amongst other things:

Books, hot chocolate, add a splash or three of

Bailey’s/Vodka/Whatever I can afford these days. Regret is expensive.

The countdown to Christmas begins.

Darkness seeps into the pale evening sky.

 

Is she smoking, or simply breathing?

Invisible cigarettes hide in every winter coat pocket.

The darkness seeps into my mind.

I wrap my sun-kissed, sun-fucked skin in layers, colourful scarves, black gloves –

The melanin in my skin refuses to adapt.

 

I like to pretend that everybody is smoking,

Each exhalation a confession of a sin;

Cravings indulged. Truths obscured from loved ones. Promises broken.

Predispositions inherited, malnourished, eventually accepted…

 

November is truly the bleakest of the Autumn months.

-Jasmin Wade

Forever

This poem was inspired by Thomas Pruden’s photo, shown below.

poetry-inspiration

Layers of obsidian like reptilian scales

Forever fall from the frozen earth.

The pounding waves and fierce gales:

Forever Nature exacts its worth –

On this solitary windswept precipice,

Dark rock bleeding into the arctic sea,

The world finally knows hopelessness.

-GJBG

Upwards

Upwards, the sky puddles with

Fountain pen ink, which dribbles

Little wet streaks down my coat

And paints my hair black.

The cold gets in my bones this year.

I sit, bathed in star-shadow,

On a frosted bench of a grave-yard meadow:

The cold gets in my bones.

Is there an absence as complete

As the full earth-circle made around a hole

So whole, and dark as the sky puddles,

Which dye me, back again. Black again.

Baptised in the word-water of unwritten letters,

I’ll rise again, perhaps, when the roots catch,

When the buds force themselves skyward, and

The earth twists herself orbital-onwards.

Until then, I think I’ll sit here a while.

Everything is the same and that is why Winter

Shows me fear in a hand full of ice:

In the cold light of a distant moon,

The memory of warmth

Crumbles like snow to the ground.

– Rebecca Shapland

zachery-xavier-2
Zachery Xavier

 

Leave a Reply

