Exploring art: Satoshi Dáte

Satoshi

Satoshi Dáte is an artist, designer and musician from Japan. Currently based in London, he works to create beautiful pieces that inspire deeper thought.

Did you always know art was what you wanted to do with your life?

I don’t know how I knew, but I just did. I’ve liked creating things since I was child. I just cannot stop expressing. I think I was always curious of things I didn’t know, like the mysteries of the world. Although I was already drawing, painting and playing music, the first time I went to a proper art class, I realised that art is extremely interesting and fascinating to me – much more than what I’d thought. A charcoal drawing lesson, that was… I realised fully that I should work in the art world, as I enjoyed myself a lot. I always have the desire to express myself, and I believe I have an ability to connect to outer world, and represent who we are and discover things. I would like people to be more enlightened and better human beings. I have a fear that people are becoming non-human. I believe that I should be an artist to maintain that the world does not to go in the wrong direction.

You follow philosophies that seek happiness and illumination. In what way has this philosophy affected your art work?

I used to create things just for myself, but as I’ve become deeper minded, I consider the people who see my art more. No matter what I create, it has to be positive and have depth, to try to reduce egoism and selfishness. It is like absorbing all the energy from the universe, and trying to think of a solution for the world. Certainly my philosophy makes my art work deeper. The quality of art depends on the depth of the artist’s mind.
Perhaps, my ideas affect my art without my intention – as long as I try hard to put my soul into my work, people will naturally feel the depth, and they will try to find their own happiness and illumination.

You have a very unique painting style – it is subtle, yet full of colour and story. What is your creation process like?

Painting is the representation of my experiences. As it is visual art, I connect the emotion to visual objects. It is like matching the puzzle. Scattered ideas, experiences and emotions – I pick them up and reconstruct them in a two-dimensional form.

You are also a musician, and your album, ‘Abstract Figure’ – experimental, alt-rock – is a wondrous trip. What was the inspiration behind it?

Mainly from love relationships. I think my music is quite dark compared to my other art works. As music only exists in the air and it is abstract, I feel it reflects my soul directly. The process of making music is a kind of recreating or re-understanding of my emotions and experiences. I create a representation of each matter and observe it objectively.

Your designs have been used in a Sony web commercial, as well as being featured at Selfridges – not to mention yourself being involved in London Fashion Week, and other events across Europe! You also have your own store in Japan, and have given lectures at different universities. What has been the most memorable moment in your career for you?

I don’t keep the ‘memorable moment’. I always see now, or the future. While I create things, my mind and soul works fully, and I feel I live in the moment. I can only live at that moment. All the career aspects for me don’t mean much.

What advice would you give to someone who wants to embark on the same creative path as you?

Be passionate, eager to learn, deep thinking, crazy, meaningful, considerable, positive, and compassionate.

What is next for you?

I am working on a short film about making women confident – one of the NPOs in Japan offered this. They support women’s rights, and investigate human trafficking. I am also preparing an interactive performance with a flautist, using visual effects and sound. As well as this, I will be doing theatre sets and costume design, and continuing to create clothing, accessorises and music.

Nickie Shobeiry

Leave a Reply

