Christmas closet: Onesies & Sequins

And so it begins. The best month of the year. Hectic hot chocolates and OTT wrapping paper. A rush of overflowing shopping centres and ice rinks. December creates a collage of knitted jumpers, sequinned skirts and fur trims. As the Christmas countdown begins the thought of tinsel and turkey will get us through the mass of deadlines. It’s officially acceptable to be excited and to trawl shops for all those outfits we’re going to need to get us through the festive season. From a morning of unwrapping presents and curling up in front of Elf in your onesie to strutting out for mulled wine in that metallic mini-skirt, Christmas covers all bases. Calling for an unnecessary amount of outfit changes? Yes please.

Sequin skirt

Photo credit: Pinterest

Christmas Morning

I don’t know about you but Christmas morning in my house is dedicated to being snug. I always spend it lazing around in my pyjamas. I roll out of bed to see what Santa’s brought me and check Rudolph ate his carrot (yes I am nineteen). This is all done in in my PJs and some knit socks. I’ll also probably be draped in blankets with my cup of tea or a cosy hot chocolate, with marshmallows of course! I’m currently loving button down night shirts. Next, always stock cute cotton and flannel shirts in stylish tartans and stripes. I always wrap myself in a dressing gown as well, or pull a onesie on. Primark is one of my favourite spots for onesies, especially at Christmas, as they always fill their stores with Christmas themed onesies. My fleece, snowflake onesie from Primark is a favourite to curl up in. I just think they’re so snug and fun and an absolute necessity on Christmas morning. Along with some snazzy fleece socks or Santa slippers you’re set for the cosiest Christmas yet.

Socks

Photo credit: Pinterest

Christmas Afternoon

I wear knitted jumpers all winter long, but I know some families like to go all out for Christmas day. Novelty Christmas jumpers are just adorable. I think Home Alone’s Kevin would definitely approve of the massive variety Missguided are hosting this Christmas. I’m absolutely in love with their DIY gingerbread man jumper. This cute knit comes with a bare gingerbread man that you can dress up yourself with the accessories that come with. Put a Santa hat on him or cover him in sparkles. You can even give your gingerbread jumper a moustache. This is such an original, fun idea and would make such a great gift. If you’re not into getting crafty at Christmas, check out the rest of the Missguided range or have a gander at Urban Outfitter’s cable knits, of which there are an abundance of all year round. Or you could go the whole hog and dress yourself up as a Christmas pud. The likes of Joker’s Masquerade have a selection costumes from crackers to Christmas trees. Their glistening bauble get up is definitely making me want to crash a Christmas party.

gingerbread jumper

Photo credit: Missguided

Christmas Evening

And from day to evening we go. Actually I say evening but I do generally spend the majority of Christmas day looking like a pink disco ball; you can never have enough sequins to get you through the season. This season, metallics are also dominating the festive scene. Especially, it seems, in the form of co-ords. Co-ords were a big fad over summer and it’s great to see they’ve been brought through to winter in darker colours and heavier materials. ASOS and New Look do some fab crops and mini-skirts in metallic blues and purples. These look uber stylish and you can try mixing up the textures. Try matching a metallic piece with some velvet and then throw a fur jacket over the top. Mixing textures really dresses up an outfit and allows you to have fun. Of course I can’t go without mentioning sequins. I love some glitz on Christmas day. Christmas is an excuse to go completely over the top with everything, dressing included. Dressing up in head to toe sparkles doesn’t have to cost a bomb either. All the high street shops are stocking them this time of year. I’m really into one I’ve spied on Boohoo. A black sequin shift number which is an absolute steal at just twenty pounds. This definitely needs a bold lip accompanying it, along with some killer heels.

So this is Christmas: your ultimate excuse to wear anything and everything. Be it a garish Santa onesie or your most festive frock. You can rock around that Christmas tree dressed down or fancy-dressed up. Have fun and don’t forget a few sparkles! Merry shopping one and all.

Hattie Cotmore

One Comment Add yours

  1. B. A. says:

    THAT SKIRT!! – in love! xx B. A.

Leave a Reply

