What’s The Point in Buying Impractical Shoes?

heels-louboutins-sexy-shoes-Favim.com-502700

Over the years I have accumulated a large collection of shoes, many of which I have not yet worn outside of the house but nonetheless have spent many an hour trying on with different outfits and walking from end to end of my bedroom like a little girl trying on her mother’s shoes. Yet despite this, I continue to buy shoes that are too high for me to wear, well, anywhere. I mean, I hardly go to many social events that don’t require comfortable shoes… and I am terrified of wearing a pair of six-inch heels on the tube!

Even so, triggering countless eye-rolls from my siblings, I continue to come home with a new pair of… wait for it… heels; my excuse being, ‘they’ll come in really handy when I’m an editor of an international fashion magazine’. It’s what we all imagine isn’t it? Turning up at work in our black Louboutin stilettos, in the full knowledge that the sleek red sole is on show for everyone to see. It’s what we see in all the movies: the powerful female figure entering the building, her heels click-clacking authoritatively as she walks. She’s ruthless, the best person at her job. Think Meryl Streep in ‘The Devil Wears Prada’. I will admit that I do love flat shoes just as much, however, there’s just something exciting about heels… The risk element: the fact that you could topple over at any moment. Okay… that’s probably not the reason why we are all drawn to them. And it’s definitely not the pain.

It’s that sense of empowerment that you get when you’re a few inches taller. In a pair of heels, your posture straightens; your thighs immediately seem thinner; and your confidence is elevated. You no longer fear that you might fall – it’ll just draw everyone’s attention to the amazing pair of shoes you’re wearing. And if not for any of those reasons, then at least you won’t have to hear the words: “Oh, I had forgotten how short you were”.

After all, as Christian Louboutin has made clear, “a shoe has so much more to offer than just to walk”. 

by Amrita Pal

Leave a Reply

