Interview: Tom Elliott

tom elliott

Tom Elliott  is a Cornish singer-songwriter living in Exeter. He will be performing at the RAZZ launch part in Freshers’ Week. To find out more about the event, click here. 

1. When did you know you wanted to do live gigs?

Ever since I started writing songs I’ve wanted to play them to people and see what they think. I wrote my first song when I was about 14. There’s something pretty awesome about playing to a room full of people who seem to be enjoying your music.

2. How would you describe your music?

A Cornish boy singing songs about whatever pops into his head.

3. Are you influenced by anyone?

I saw Ben Howard early on in his career gigging in a pub in Cornwall. His music has definitely been an inspiration. I love my guitar bands as well though. Oasis, Arctic Monkeys, Bombay Bicycle Club, more recently Mallory Knox. On other days I’ll happily put some rap or reggae on the speakers. I don’t know how much they’ve influenced my songs though!

4. Can you read music?

Nope. I write and play by ear.

5. Do you enjoy being ginger?

(Laughs) I don’t really mind my hair.

6. Where do you want to be in 2 years time as a musician?

In a dream world, headlining festivals! More realistically, playing music as much as possible. Touring, going to places I’ve never been to and most importantly getting to play my songs to anyone who is willing to listen.

7. What was your fav festival this year?

I think this year’s Glastonbury looked ridiculously awesome. The Arctic Monkeys started their mission to take over the world again and the Rolling Stones were back. I got to see The Stones at Hyde Park though which was pretty mental.

8. What’s your latest track called?

I put my first single out this Summer. It’s song called ‘Don’t Settle.’

9. Tell us the most exciting thing that happened to you this Summer.

I got to play Boardmasters Festival alongside acts such as Ben Howard and The Vaccines. Outside of music, I’ve spent a lot of time on the beach and done a bit of travelling in Europe. It’s been good!

Interview by Claudia Hogan

Leave a Reply

