Discovery

Artist: Pakayla Biehn

I first came across Pakayla Biehn’s portraits on my love for you over a year ago, but I looked up the artist recently to see more of her work and fell even more deeply in love with it. At first I had been struck by Biehn’s technical ability, the incredible layers in her paintings. But this time around I was more aware of how emotional her work is. Biehn’s subject is so mysterious; often obscured or vanishing, sometimes characterised by beautiful flowers. I could wonder all day about who these people are. Here are a few that I found particularly moving:

Ten Thousand Times
Ten Thousand Times
2 years, 264 days and this morning
2 years, 264 days and this morning
People in lovePeople in love
People in love
People in love
All the time I was making this I was thinking of you
All the time I was making this
I was thinking of you

(These pictures have been taken from Pakayla Biehn’s ‘Double Exposure Series’, as featured on her website.)

Artist: Matt Small

Matt Small’s work seeks to overturn the negative perception of young people. His inspiration came from working with young people on the streets of London, where he is based.  He paints his portraits on materials like concrete and scrap metal with these incredible, powerful colours, which give the portraits a playfulness and integrity that I love. Find out more about Matt Small here.

1

2

3

4

(All photos taken from matt-small.com)

For more like this, please see my blog at http://eblondiau.blogspot.co.uk/

Written for Razz by Eloise Blondiau.

Leave a Reply

